Look at the TLJ

Welcome to HOPE. We have tried to provide a place for newcomers to make their introductions. We will try our best to make you welcome and guide you through our website and Forum and assist you as best as we can through any questions you have regarding Pudendal Neuralgia.
Pilot

Look at the TLJ

Post by Pilot »

Good news! Maybe even great news for some! I'll get to that in a bit but let me start off with a disclaimer: I'm not a doctor, I'm a pilot and a PNE victim like most of you. However, I think I'm a good ways down the road to recovery! I'm going to share that story with you and I strongly encourage you to read on but first I have to vent! I'm 52 years old and apparently I've been disillusioned most of those years because I thought I was living in the age of "modern" medicine. I was walloped by a dose of reality a couple of years ago when I was suddenly afflicted with PNE. My trials and tribulations are much like everyone else's, pretty much meeting one dead end after another. Over the course of 2 1/2 years I saw 3 Neurosurgeons, 1 General Surgeon, 3 Urologists, 3 Physical Therapists, 2 GP's, and a whole plethora of friends and acquaintances from the medical field. Only 1 person in that group had a working knowledge of the pudendal nerve and he was one of very few in the country who specialize and that was Dr. Antolak in Minnesota who, by the way, is now retired but I want to take this opportunity greatly applaud his efforts in the field. I don't know the story but I sense it took great courage on his part pursuing a practice in this area. Of the neurosurgery group, 1 had never heard of it (OU), 1 had heard of it (OU) and 1 pretended to have heard of it (UCLA). Had to shame some schools of neuroscience!The urologist group was a bit more in tune but the PT and GP groups were clueless. It's astonishing to me that the study of neuroscience stops at the sacrum! This "nerve" disorder isn't new, it has afflicted thousands, it's life ruining, and it is